ACC Aviation Award of Excellence Award

ACC Aviation Award of Excellence

The purpose of the ACC Aviation Award of Excellence is to recognize the extraordinary contributions of an individual, group, or organization to the airport and aviation industry that are visionary and innovative, have advanced the airport aviation industry, and have served the general public good. The lifetime achievements of the recipients are also considered. The award is given during the ACC Annual Conference & Exposition each November.

Past Recipients

2023   Huntley Lawrence

2022   Ginger Evans

2021   Christina Cassotis, Allegheny County Airport Authority

2020   Mary Rose Loney

2019   John Duval, Austin Commercial

2018   Oris Dunham   

2017   Representative John Mica, Former Congressman

2016   Jeffrey Hamiel, Metropolitan Airports Commission, Executive Director/CEO

2015   John L. Martin, San Francisco International Airport, Director

2014   Thella F. Bowens, San Diego County Regional Airport Authority, Director /CEO

2013   Randall (Randy) H. Walker, Former Clark County Aviation Department Director

2012   Angela Gittens, ACI World, Director General

2011   Catherine (Kate) M. Lang, Federal Aviation Administration, Deputy Associate Administrator for Airports

2010   Benjamin R. DeCosta, Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport, Former Department of Aviation general manager 

2009   Edmund S. “Kip” Hawley, Transportation Security Administration, Former Administrator

2008   Gina Marie Lindsay, Los Angeles World Airports, Executive Director

2007   James “Jim” E. Bennett, Metropolitan Washington Airports Authority, President and CEO

2006   Frederick W. Smith, FedEx Corporation, Chairman, President and CEO

2005   Jeffrey P. Fegan, Dallas-Ft. Worth International Airport, CEO

2004   James C. DeLong, A.A.E., Louisville Airport Authority, Former Director of Aviation

2003   Lydia Kennard, Los Angeles World Airports, Executive Director

2002   Norman Y. Mineta, U.S. Department of Transportation, Secretary

2001   Bombardier Aerospace, Manufacturer of the CRJ Series Regional Jet

2000   Bud Shuster, House Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure, Chairman

2000   James L. Oberstar, House Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure
                Ranking Democratic Member

1999   Donald D. Engen, National Air and Space Museum, Director

1998   Bethune, Continental Airlines, Chairman and CEO

1997   Aviation Week Group, Publishers of Aviation Daily & Airports

1996   Herbert D. Kelleher, Southwest Airlines, President, Chairman of the Board and CEO

1993   Leonard L. Griggs, Federal Aviation Administration, Assistant Administrator for Airports

1992   Federico F. Pena, City of Denver, Former Mayor

1991   Samuel K. Skinner, U.S. Department of Transportation, Secretary

1990   Clifton A. Moore, Los Angeles Department of Airports, Executive Director

Scroll to Top